## I-ESKIMO 2024

The Indian Maritime University (IMU) conducted the, I-ESKIMO 2024, with the Grand Finale on 16 November 2024. The First edition of this competition was held in 2021, with all the six Campuses of IMU participating. It was an unqualified and resounding success. In the year 2022 & 2023 the Competition was expanded to include the Affiliated Institutes of IMU. This event is organized in line with the country's identified requirements for training the future leaders of Maritime India, particularly in matters related to the International Maritime Organization (IMO).I-Eskimo 2024 was conducted by the Indian Maritime University in association with DMET - MERI Alumni, Institute of Marine Engineers (India), CMMI & Lloyds Register of Shipping.

The objective of the competition is to ensure that future leaders of Maritime India are exposed to the art, philosophy and science of regulations development at the International Maritime Organization (IMO), so as to be able to grasp and appreciate the regulatory framework they will be exposed to in the Shipping Industry. It is also conducted as a value addition to the academic pursuits of the students and scholars, as also contributing to honing the cognitive and communication skills of the participants.

The event was specially curated by Shri Rajeev Nayyer, President, IME(I) and an Industry veteran, who has been part of the Indian delegation at the IMO on numerous occasions.

It was conducted for four topical and critical subjects:

- CR Comprehensive review of STCW convention
- IB Interplay Between Conventions
- CC Carbon Capture and its Applications
- WP Wind Propulsion

Seven eminent veterans of the industry constituted the panel of Judges, lending an aura of dignity to the event. The Judges were:

- Dr B K Saxena
- Capt Kishore Sundaresan.
- Shri Dilip Mehrotra,
- Shri Achintya B Dutta,
- Shri Ajoy Chatterjee
- Shri N. Girish
- Shri S.M.Rai

## • JUDGES PANEL:

	TOPICS AND PANEL JUDGES					
	CARBON CAPTURE	STCW CONVENTION	INTERPLAY BETWEEN CONVENTION	WIND PROPULSION		
1	Mr.A.B.Dutta	Dr.B. K.Saxena	Mr.DilipMehrotra	Mr.N.Girish		
2	Mr.N.Girish	Mr.DilipMehrotra	Mr.A.B.Dutta	Mr.Ajay Chatterjee		
3	Mr.Ajay Chatterjee	Capt. Kishore S.	Dr.B. K.Saxena	Mr.S.M.Rai		

The participants greatly benefitted from the guidance and mentorship by the galaxy of Industry experts who were roped in for the competition. The Guides were :-

-Mr. Anil Kumar Korupoju, Sr. Surveyor, IRS

-Mr. Arun Shankar V, Sr. Surveyor, IRS

-Capt. Porus Dalal, Shipvet

-Capt Gajanan Karanjikar, Managing Director- Cordelia Marine Services, UAE

-Mr.David Birwadkar, Vice President (Head - Fleet Management) GEIMS

-Capt.M.C.Yadav, Director Marine Education & Training, FOSMA

-Mr. Hemadri Ray

-Mr. J. Dasgupta

-Mr.Kunal Sharma, Surveyor, IRS

-Mr.L.P.Tripathy

-Mr.Mohan S Pal, Director (METC), IME(I)

-Capt. Vinayak Mohala, Anglo-Eastern Maritime Training Centre

-Mr. Ritesh Kaushik, Chief Engr. & Maritime lawyer

-Mr Rajesh Kasaragod, IMEI

-Mr. Sanjiv Ogale, IMEI

-Mr. S.Sanatani

-Dr Sheeja J, Associate Prof & HOD, SNAOE, IMU Vizag

-Mr. Siddhesh Prabhu, Senior Surveyor, IRS

-Mr.Mahesh S

-Capt. Subroto Khan, Principal, GEIMS

-Mr.Sunil Kumar, CTO & Head-T&A, GEIMS

-Capt Sureen Narang

-Mr. Tarique Mulla, IMEI

-Mr. Venkat B

-Capt. Ashok Kumar Singh, Principal Surveyor, IRS

-Capt. Harish Khatri

-Mr.C.P.K.Kashyap, Executive Director, The Sanmar Group

-Mr. Ranajitsinh C Patil, Principal Surveyor

-Cdr. Sandeep Kumar (Retd.)

-Mr. Shammy K., Sr. Principal Surveyor, IRS

-Mr. Rakesh Roy, COO, Vedam Design & Technical Consultancy Pvt. Ltd

-Cdr Bharatkumar Unercat -Mr. Devrup Kabi, Principal Engineer, IRS -Mr. H.V.Ramesh, Principal Surveyor, IRS -Mr Shrikant Aradhey,LRS

Out of 140 registered teams of IMU campuses & IMU Affiliated Institutes; 96 teams submitted final papers. 47 teams qualified for semifinal rounds and began the battle for victory.

Further, 4 teams from Carbon Capture, 4 teams from STCW Convention, 4 teams fromWind Propulsion and 3 teams from Interplay Between Conventions made it to the Finals.

The Finals were conducted on 16 November 2024 in virtual mode. Dr. (Mrs.) Malini V Shankar (IAS Retd.) Vice Chancellor at Indian Maritime University, was the Chief Guest. In her Welcome Address, Dr.(Mrs.) Malini V Shankar, brought out that India was rightly again focusing its attention on the Maritime Sector, the roadmaps for which were being laid out in the Maritime India Vision 2030 and Maritime Amritkaal 2047. The onus was on all maritime professionals, and the youth of today, to ensure that India's future Maritime leaders were capable of getting the developed nations to pay heed to the needs and requirements of developing and under developed nations in matters maritime.

In her address, Dr Malini Shankar lauded the standard of the competition, stating that after seeing the finalists in action, she was confident that the future of the Indian Shipping industry was in good hands. She emphasized that given the uncertainty in the industry with respect to technological advancements, it was imperative that fresh and innovative ideas kept coming to the fore, and events of this nature were the best opportunities for this. She thanked the IMEI, DMECA,CMMI & Lloyds Register of Shipping for supporting the competition.

	Winner	1 <sup>st</sup> Runner Up	2 <sup>nd</sup> Runner Up
Topics:CR			
Team	B3	E4	C1
Institute	IMU Mumbai Port	Anglo Eastern Maritime	IMU Kolkata
	Campus	Academy	Campus
Member	Isha Sakshi	Chaitanya Salunke	Aman Somra
Member	Kashish Sharma	Gurcharan Singh	Atharva Tripathi
Member	Junaid Ansari	Ujjwal Parashar	
Member	Piyush Singh	Md Asad Shaikh	
Guide	Capt. Vinayak Mahola	Capt. Vinayak Mahola	Shri Mohan Singh Pal
	Capt. Harish Khatri	Capt. Harish Khatri	
Campus Co-	Shri Hare Ram Hare	Shri Anil Sharma	Dr. Pradeep Raja C

The detailed results are tabulated below:

ordinator			
Topics:IB			
Team	C3	B3	D1
Institute	Anglo Eastern	IMU Navi Mumbai	IMU Kolkata
	Maritime Academy	Campus	Campus
Member	Joshua Antonio Gomes	Gaurav Butola	Mohd Emaad Khan
Member	Lakshya Bevli	Chowdhury	Nitish Pandey
Member	Subbaiah AllarandaAppaiah	Soumyajeet	Pranav Amit Prasad
Member		Sirajuddin SK	Viraj Paragbhai Trivedi
Guide	Cdr. Sandeep kumar retd.	Cdr. Sandeep kumar retd.:	Shri C.P.K.Kashyap
	Mr. Shammy K	Mr. Shammy K	Shri. Ranajitsinh C Patil
Campus Co-	Shri Anil Sharma	Capt. Giby John	Dr. Pradeep Raja C
ordinator			
Topics:CC			
Team	A10	C2	E1
Institute	Samundra Institute of	IMU Kolkata Campus	IMU Kolkata
	<b>Maritime Studies</b>		Campus
Member	Aniruddh Anilkumar Achary	Isham Ahmed	Shwet Ranjan
Member		Divya Swaraj Jayswal	Shubham Kumar
Member		Safal Das	Shivam Kumar
Member		Mirza Dia Ferdousi	
Guide	Dr. Nanaware S D	Dr. Pradeep Raja C	Dr Pradeep Raja C
Campus Co- ordinator	Shri S. Sanatani, Shri Tarique Mulla	Mr Anil Kumar Korupoju Capt Gajanan	Mr Anil Kumar Korupoju Capt Gajanan

Topics:WP			
Team	A8	D4	E6
Institute	IMU Vizag Campus	IMI Greater Noida	IMU Kochi Campus
Member	Sagnik Sarkar	Mohammad Masroof Khan	Amrutha Santhosh
Member	Aditya Ghosh	Barosiya Denis Girishbhai	PalaashKatochh
Member	Jamson Saikia	Daniel Jose J	Lini C L
Member	Subhrajyoti Sarkar	Saurabh Sunil kr Sahu	
Guide	Shri H.V.Ramesh	Shri Mahesh S	Shri L.P.Tripathy
	Dr.Sheeja.J		Shri Ritesh Kaushik
Camous Co- ordinator	Dr. P Sirisha	Shri Ankush Sharma	Ms Shabnam Parveen

• Prizes & Rolling trophy will be declared very soon

The collaboration between so many stakeholders of the Indian shipping industry to contribute to the endeavors and activities of the IMU indeed augurs well for the future of Maritime India.